Welcome

Posted: June 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

So this is going to be my new weekly blog about the eclectic world of electronic music in all it’s glorious forms.
Having been @ Liverpool Sound City last month, I have a renewed sense of clarity for the direction I want to take my music… this new clarity involves me making more of an effort to create a scene for Sacre Noir & also to support the music & musicians that inspire me.

So as a little taster I thought I’d bring you my ‘Best of LSC’ picks;

KOF
We went to check out Liverpool based KOF on the first night @ Bumper (a really cool little venue on Hardman St), but missed his set. We were determined to catch the set @ Hebbie Jeebies on the final night as my partner’s band (Savage Sound System) is supporting them in Edinburgh @ Maggie’s Chamber 21st July, and wanted to show our support and say “hi”.
The hype around the band has not been in vain! With radio support from Ras Kwame, DJ Target & Huw Stephens to name a few & collaborations with Wiley, Sway & Skinnyman, I was really excited to see the show.
It wasn’t exactly well attended (think everyone was maybe a little worn out after 3 days of talks, workshops, music & mayhem), but that didn’t stop the band giving it everything they’ve got.
Live guitars, bass, keys, drums & saxaphone, provided a satisfying backdrop for the melodic & rhythmic RnB stylings of their front man; his smooth and soulful voice had the audience loving their set from start to finish.

Highlight of the set:
Addicted feat. Feltch (prod by Alex D) @

I loved this track so much, I might do some back ups live @ The Maggies Chamber gig
Watch out for live shows near you….

Let’s Buy Happiness
Newcastle based 5-piece fronted by the instantly charming Sarah Hall were a great find. We just popped into Mojo for the North East showcase & they were just taking to the stage. I was so impressed I even bought their 7″ “Six Wolves” which was the track they finished their set with. A really enjoyable, shoegaze-style band (although they are probably too young to have discovered the bands they reminded me of yet), with great catchy riffs and glorious melodies. Having supported loads of great bands (Idlewild, The Temper Trap & Vivian Girls to name a few) the future certainly looks bright for this band.
Check out this live video of “Six Wolves” from Glastonbury @

Seekae
My partner got an e-mail about this band, playing at the Aussie BBQ so we went along & I was very impressed. The 3-piece had a bunch of synths and laptops and brought experimental electonica to the hungry crowd. Glichy & ambient, they managed to pull of quite a relaxing and yet interesting musical experience.
Check out Blood Bank @

But what can you expect in the future from this weekly blog?
…News & Reviews of all the stuff I like from the world of electronic music makers (and more), wherever they may be.

This weekend…
3/6/11: Sacre Noir Live – FREE gig @ The Wee Red Bar (Edinburgh)- check out the music @

4/6/11: sSs Live – @ Henry’s Cellar Bar (Edinburgh) check out the music @

Leave a Reply

