Wednesday 25th April 2012

Last week was one of the most stressful yet successful and rewarding weeks for me musically since, I don’t know when.
The stress & success both came from shooting the first ever Sacre Noir music video. Like many other ‘first time’ experiences, I was beyond nervous & apprehensive about the whole thing; the planning, delivery & execution of our ideas. Is the song even any good? Will anyone show up? Why are we even doing this…etc. Thankfully, we have a lot of very talented & creative contacts that were more than willing to share their skills to help us make this happen.

Before I go any further, I must say that both Alexis & Phil were amazing during this whole process. Not only as band member in the musical sense (although it doesn’t get said often enough how much I respect and admire both of their musical genius & contributions to Sacre Noir), but also as shoulders to cry on, stress out at and general throw diva fits around. You are both amazing & make this all worth-while!

So back to our (very) talented friends…
Firstly our film-maker was David from Boshpit productions.
Boshpit have previously delivered videos for some of Edinburgh finest bands and studios (and he’s a mate of our drummer) so who better to ask. We seemed to be pretty much on the same page from the first meeting. David really understood our concepts & themes and was an absolute pro from that first meeting right through to the end of the shoot. As I’m writing this I’m getting very excited and can’t wait to see the finished article, or even a little taster. I got to see a couple of bits on the day & they looked amazing, so watch this space for updates.
The venue & sound/lighting came with the help from Henry’s Cellar Bar & their amazingly cool engineer, Nora. We already love Nora as she has done our sound @ Henry’s many times and always makes us sound awesome, plus she really is ‘too cool for school’ so having her there for the day was excellent & helped put me @ ease a wee bit.
Make-up & hair came from the very talented Erin Culley. She had 3 characters to work with (2 ‘doll’ type characters & 1 clown) I don’t want to give too much away before the launch, but I will say “WOW that girl has a gift”! I had lots of ideas for how I wanted the characters to look & didn’t really think it would all work out, but Erin delivered everything I asked for and more. She took ideas from the cast & was able to adapt the original ideas as we went along. Erin has such a bubbly personality & was really professional, so everyone felt very comfortable with her & loved their make-up.
If it hadn’t been for these 3 lovely people, the video shoot day would NOT have gone as smoothly as it did. So, if you or anyone you know is looking for a creative team for music videos, live performance or photo shoots, get these guys.
More special thanks goes to our cast for the day – you were all amazing:
Clown – Andrew (from Kill Code Red)
Dolls – Lyndsey & Emma
Audience – TomSki, Chris Scott, Stephen Young, Lisa Naden, Fiona Neill
Also, a big thank you to Marius who was our photographer for the day & Margaret who took the behind the scenes footage. I’m sure both of these elements will shine a light on activities that I’m not even aware of yet.
So all & all making the first Sacre Noir video was one of the most stressful yet successful and rewarding musical experiences ever & I can’t wait to see the final results.
All this thinking and talking about making a music video, made me want to share a couple of excellently dark & definitely different videos that have come to my attention recently, and have been on repeat rotation since.
Firstly, ‘Good Day Today’ by David Lynch. It’s dark, moody and atmospheric in all the right ways…have a wee look:

And secondly, ‘Slides By’ which is the first single to be taken from the brand new A Band Of Buriers album entitled Filth, will be released in June.

You can buy the single from iTunes here: http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/slides-by-single/id515347799

Other musically rewarding experiences from last week include 2 of the best gigs I’ve been to in ages!
Wednesday 18th April, The Lemonheads @ HMV Picture House, Edinburgh
This was to be the 6th time I’d seen Evan Dando perform and it was a very special gig indeed, as the band were set to play the album ‘It’s a shame about Ray’ as a 20-year anniversary treat…and what a treat it was!
The album was played in order (minus Mrs Robinson) and Evan started by giving us few tracks first with just the acoustic guitar. During ‘All My Life’ I had a wee tear in my eye (maybe a bit over-emotional but it did feel very special) and then the band joined him for the rest of the album. We we’re also treated to a few tracks from other albums including my favourite ‘If I could talk I’d tell you”. The drummer & bass player were on fabulous form, tight as you like & loving every minute of the gig and although Evan looked a bit ‘out of it’ when he first stumbled onto the stage, he sounded amazing and gave his usual committed delivery to every song.

The Lemonheads

The Lemonheads @ HMV Picture House Edinburgh

Saturday 21st April, An Evening with Luke Haines @ The Continental, Preston
I’d never seen Luke Haines before & I’d never been to The Continental, but I’d highly recommend both as I had a great night! One man, a guitar, a Casio VL-Tone and a book (Post Everything) and a record to promote. The latter ‘Nine and a Half Psychedelic Meditations on British Wrestling of the 1970s and early ’80s’ is an excellent collection of tracks, but my favourite on the night was ‘Big Daddy Got a Casio VL-Tone’. This is a song which tells the story of what might go through the mind of the 80’s wrestler (real name: Shirley Crabtree) if he were to make music with said Casio VL-Tone. We were also treated to a short reading from ‘Post Everything’ (a very funny moment where Luke reminisced about the first National Pop Strike) and some classic tracks from previous outputs; The Auteurs and Baader-Meinhof.

Luke Haines

Luke Haines @ The Continental, Preston

A most excellent week indeed.

Leave a Reply

