110: Sacre Noir Summer Tour 2016 (days off)

Posted: August 1, 2016 in Uncategorized

Friday 22nd July 2016
We now have a few days off in London before heading back to Scotland and as the weather was still so lovely we decided to make the most of it and went to one of my favourite spaces in the city, Holland Park. We visited he Kyoto garden, spotted one of the peacocks and then went to lunch with Joe (a fantastic family friend who has hosted us on every previous trip to London). We met at Mona Lisa’s on the Kings Road, ate fantastic Italian food, chatted about Brexit and avoided the rain (a quick shower).
IMG_7052.JPG

Saturday 23rd July 2016
We had the most perfect last day in London imaginable.
Started with a wander around Little Venice before taking a canal cruise to Camden, where we indulged in a fantastic vegan lunch at Mildred, then wandered on to St John’s Wood so I could visit Abbey Road (well the crossing at least) – it was super busy with tourists trying to get family photos of the famous zebra crossing, in front of the studios and even writing on the street signs. It’s the one place in London that I’ve always wanted to go but until now had never found the time. I was a very happy girl to have finally have my own memories of this famous street.
IMG_1478.jpg
Growing up neither of my parents were huge music fans and it wasn’t until I was much older that I developed my appreciation for British music (my dad had a John Lennon album on tape that I used to play when I was very young, but neither he nor mum tried to get me ‘into’ music).
As a small child I loved anything I could dance to, Culture Club / Boy George & Bonnie Tyler being my favourites. As a young teenager I was more into American based bands like REM, Smashing Pumpkins & my all-time favourite band Nirvana.
However, arriving at Perth College in the late 90’s to study music and being surrounded by musicians and their musical appetite and lecturers who challenged me to broaden my listening repertoire, I realized that I loved all kinds of music, even those genres I’d rejected as a child like Jazz & Country.
I spent a lot of time in that first year at college with folk who loved The Beatles & The Kinks and you can’t really ignore the writing skills and stylistic development of the ‘British Invasion’ and the impact on bands like The Stone Roses and the Brit Pop scene.
In that first year at college I must have listened to the Abbey Road LP at least once a day and fell in love with the lyrics and guitar sounds, with the imagery and production.
It really was a treat to ‘walk the walk’ whilst on tour myself – I’m sure when I was at college I never really thought I’d be living the life I do and I couldn’t be happier with the way things turned out.
It’s not all roses, but I’ve always believed that if you really want something and if you work hard to achieve it, then anything is possible.

Sunday 24th July 2016
We were rudely awoken on our last morning.
Firstly, I’d set my alarm for a ridiculous time (forgetting that my iPod was stuck on French time), then the receptionist marched into our room (not realizing it was still occupied).
It’s definitely time to go home.
Coffee. Underground to Kings Cross. More coffee. Train to Scotland.

Someone was pleased to see us again.
IMG_7092

Monday 25th July 2016
Back to reality.
Edinburgh seems grey and cold.
The supermarket seemed a bit boring & the lack of local shops to peruse (cheesemonger, patisserie and chocolatier), as in Rue des Pyrenées, was ever so slightly disappointing.
Don’t get me wrong, I love Edinburgh, but after every tour (especially the longer ones like this at 22 days away) the return to ‘normal’ life is difficult.
Why can’t I just stay in ‘tour mode’?

Tuesday 26th July 2016
A brief trip to Glasgow for work & I discovered a new cafe (replacing another cafe under the arches at Central Station).
IMG_7199
The train trip from Edinburgh took ages; I’d forgotten about the refurbishment at Queen Street and managed to get on the train that stops at Carluke for 20 minutes.

Wednesday 27th July 2016
Distribution of the new LP ‘Nothing Falls Apart’
Popped into our local record store, Elvis Shakespeare and posted copies over to Glasgow’s New Hellfire Club.
We had a Sacre Noir trio rehearsal at ColorSound Studios, Edinburgh in the evening.
IMG_7207

Thursday 28th July 2016 – A Savage Birthday
Coffee at Crumbs, Portobello
Hot Chocolate, Bruntsfield
Food at David Banns, Old Town
5F464618-F07C-423C-99A6-2A933339CD1C.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

